2018 SPAR Tour of Omagh

TOO 2018 Race programme.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [24.8 MB]

Isle of Man team confirmed for SPAR Tour of Omagh


As excitement grows in advance of the Omagh event at the end of July, another boost for the event comes with news of an Isle of Man team confirmed for the Women’s race. Team manager, Andrew Roche, confirmed the details to Race Director Stevie McKenna. 


The 4-woman team is made up from three members from the Gotland, Island Games Team.  Two from the road and one from mountain bike.  Emily Looker has made an impressive move from the mountain biking scene to road racing over the last year and half.  Locally she constantly placed herself in the top 3 ladies in the local races so far this year and is most definitely one to watch in the future.  She will be racing with Eleanor Davies, a seasoned performer, Eleanor worked her way through the junior ranks and is now a regular Team leader for the girls.  The 19 year old was 4th at the Island Games road race and gold medal team.  Also in the team is Kate Priest, Kate was also part of the gold winning Island Games team and also completed her first the Ras Na Mbann last year.  Ellen Barker, will be riding with the IOM girls team for the second time at Omagh Ellen, 17, who rides for Team On Form finished 2nd in the ladies Isle of Man Championships this year.  She has been racing in the UK mostly this year competing in the Junior Road Races.


Director McKenna was delighted with the news “Growing the Women’s race was my main target for 2018. I wanted to build on the Women’s race from 2017, which proved to be the most exciting race yet. In addition to the Isle of Man team, we’ve confirmed teams from Cycling Ireland, provincial teams from Ulster and Leinster along with a number of other British riders guesting on Irish teams. However, whilst raising the standard of the race is a goal, I also want to preserve the event as a stepping-stone for club level riders. As such, we have been working with Cycling Ireland and Cycling Ulster to develop a handicap system, which will use the new Women’s ranking system as a guide. The new format will hopefully allow club level riders to benefit from the experience of this unique race, whilst still providing National level competition for the best riders”. 


Another change to the format for this year is the non-aero Time Trial. McKenna added “With many riders travelling the length of Ireland or from GB, we want to ensure we provide a level-playing field for all riders. So both the A4 and Women’s riders will solely use road bike setups for the TT”. 


The event takes place from 27-29thJuly, and online entry opens from 27thJune to 3rdJuly at www.entrycentral.com/too. Entry for the Women’s race will extend to 13thJuly as race approval is not required. Further information can be found on our website www.tourofomagh.co.ukor on our Facebook page https://m.me/SPARTOO17

2018 SPAR Tour of Omagh gears up


The SPAR Tour of Omagh is unparalleled as one of Co Tyrone’s most iconic cycling events, featuring the biggest A4 stage race of its kind in Ireland. Now in its 9th year, the event continues to go from strength to strength, and there is significant excitement around the Women’s race this year with a Cycling Ireland National Development team and a Cycling Ulster provincial team confirmed along with a number of British riders.


Race Director, Stevie McKenna is looking forward to another exciting race;


“We are delighted to have SPAR back on board again as our title sponsor for 2018. We’ve got some challenging stages in store for our A4 and Women competitors and we’re expecting places to sell out again in record time given the interest we’ve received over recent months. The A4 race continues to be a highlight of the A4 calendar for many cyclists across Ireland, and I’ve put a lot of effort into bringing the Women’s race to a higher level this year. I’m delighted to confirm we have an increase in the number of British riders who are making the journey across the Irish Sea and I’ve also been working closely with the Cycling Ireland Women’s Commission and Cycling Ulster Women’s Commission to ensure we provide the best possible racing experience for the competitors. We are making a number of changes to the format of the Women’s race such as handicapped groups to cater for all levels of cyclist, and also we’re running the A4 race first to avoid any merging of the races as has happened in the past. The time trial will change to a non-aero event to provide a level-playing field for all competitors. And finally, we’ve introduced a new jersey competition in each race for the Best Young Rider (U23)”.


Bronagh Luke, Head of Corporate Marketing at Henderson Group, owners of the SPAR franchise in Northern Ireland, indicated she was excited about the event;


SPAR are delighted to once again be the title sponsor of the 2018 Tour of Omagh. As title sponsor we are confident that this unique and challenging event will be well supported by not only local cycle enthusiasts, but by cycle clubs throughout Ireland. The Tour of Omagh truly tests cyclists limits by providing a range of competitions within the overall race. 


SPAR stores throughout Northern Ireland supply a wide range of fresh healthy locally sourced produce, perfect for participants who are in training and want to prepare well-balanced healthy meals. We are proud to be associated with this exciting event and would like to encourage as many people to take part and stay active.”


The event takes place from 27-29thJuly, and online entry opens from 27thJune to 3rdJuly at www.entrycentral.com/too. Further information can be found on our website www.tourofomagh.co.ukor on our Facebook page https://m.me/SPARTOO17

Hosts of the 2015 All Ireland Championships

Contact us:

07725 260741


Want to join us?

If you'd like to become a member, please use our contact form, or download our application form.

Omagh Wheelers CC Group
Print Print | Sitemap
© Omagh Wheelers